An appeal


I yearn for change
and I’m tired of dragging out every good feeling
in hopes of a new one quickly succeeding.

I long for a blue sun shining through the night
casting shadows from my outstretched arms
waiting for the silver moon to color my fingertips
so that I can paint the future
and let it drift off into the morning

(Maybe I will be the first
to allow the future to change.
)

I’d believe that the old can be made new
and that the broken pieces of the world still fit together,
if only we realized that all we need is the right glue

(Maybe all we got to do
is find that elusive “How to”
)

If the distant and the near were actually really here
and I could grasp but a speckle of the whole of it all
Yes, I know maybe that that’s an order too tall
but I know that surely there must be a place to begin
if we look around and see the fortunate situation we’re in
why do we not decide to help out our nearest of kin,
because I believe that’s where change should begin

I yearn for change no more
because I have become the catalyst
and now I am here to insist
that you do too

6 thoughts on “An appeal

  1. “but I know that surely there must be a place to begin
    if we look around and see the fortunate situation we’re in
    why do we not decide to help out our nearest of kin,
    because I believe that’s where change should begin”

    I love this part!

Leave a comment